Appendix X



New Members Orientation Document


This document provides information (from Senate Standing Rules, Article II, Section 6.0) about the structure and function of the Committee on Outreach.

Membership (Assigned by the Committee on Committees and Rules)

  1. At least seven elected faculty senators (the Committee proposes an increase in the mandated number of elected faculty senators to facilitate work)
  2. One student senator
  3. Vice President for Outreach and Vice Provost for Online Education (nonvoting, ex officio)
  4. Director of Penn State Extension (nonvoting, ex officio)
  5. add the Associate Vice Provost for Online Programs as a resource member


The Committee on Outreach recommends policy and advises the University on outreach activities. Outreach is the exchange of information and the creation of meaningful collaborations between the University and its external audiences. Responsibilities for the Outreach Committee include:  identifying University outreach activities, establishing evaluation methods to ensure quality, and creating recognition measures to reward outstanding performance. Its responsibilities focus on the University’s outreach and public scholarship mission as realized through community engagement, research, credit and noncredit instruction, service through continuing and online education, cooperative extension, public broadcasting, and other programs beyond the sphere of resident education. These outreach activities are located in Penn State Outreach and Online Education, Penn State Extension, and in Penn State Colleges and the Commonwealth Campuses. The Committee on Outreach liaises with the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Education, the Council on Engaged Scholarship, and other bodies as appropriate.

Mandated Reports


Relevant AD policies, HR policies or Faculty Senate Academic Policies and Procedures that are routinely used or referenced by the Committee on Outreach

AD02, AD03, AD39, AD55

Liaison with other Senate, Administrative, Special or Joint Committees

Senate Committee on Undergraduate Education, Council on Engaged Scholarship


  • Richard Brown
  • Dennis Calvin
  • Jill Eckert
  • Brad Garrett
  • Terry Harrison
  • Alex Hristov
  • Beth King, Vice Chair
  • Lisa Mangel
  • John Potochny
  • Rama Radhakrishna
  • Elizabeth Seymour, Chair
  • Cristina Truica
  • Craig Weidemann