Standing Joint Committee on Tenure

Constitution, Bylaws, and Standing Rules of the University Faculty Senate

Standing Joint Committee on Tenure

(a) Membership: Five members – two members representing the administration appointed for a one-year term by the President of the University, and three tenured University Faculty elected by the elected faculty members of the University Faculty Senate. The chair will be chosen by the committee from the elected tenured faculty members and will serve a one-year term as chair.

(1) The term of office of the elected members shall be three years. The terms of elected members will commence on July 1 and will be staggered to provide for continuity.

(2) The Senate Committee on Committees and Rules shall serve as the nominating committee.

(3) Nominations may be presented by elected faculty Senators during the next-to-last regular meeting of the Senate each academic year. The quorum for this purpose shall consist of fifty elected faculty Senators.

(4) Election of the three faculty members and the three faculty alternates shall be by plurality election by secret written mail ballot.

(5) In case an elected faculty member resigns, the alternate elected in the same year as the member resigning will complete the term. The candidate in the most recent election receiving the highest number of votes of those not elected will fill the unexpired term of the alternate provided there are two or more eligible candidates. Otherwise a special election will be held.

(6) No member of this committee may serve concurrently on the University Promotion and Tenure Review Committee and/or the Senate Committee on Faculty Rights and Responsibilities.

(b) Duties: See The Pennsylvania State University Policy Manual, Promotion and Tenure Procedures and Regulations, HR-23 and SR: 5-6-75 IV.