Appendix B



Revision of the Bylaws, Article III Election to the Senate, Section 7


Implementation: Upon Approval by the Senate


This section of the Bylaws is long-standing.  A situation arose after the 2017 Senate election wherein a faculty member who had been newly elected for the subsequent four-year term resigned before their Senate term began.  A question arose as to whether the single alternate from that unit’s Senator election should fill the vacancy, or if a new election was necessary. This Committee ruled that the alternate identified in the most recent election should fill the vacancy.  The proposed wording change is intended to remove any perceived ambiguity about the succession of unit senators.

Please note that the following contains bold text for additions and strikeouts indicating deleted text. Deleted text is notated with [Delete] [End Delete]. Added text is notated with [Add] [End Add].

Section 7

In case an elected faculty senator is unable to [Delete] complete [End Delete][Add] fulfill [End Add] the [Add] duties of their [End Add] elected term, the University faculty of the senator’s voting unit shall identify a replacement in the following manner: In addition to identifying an elected senator for each vacant seat, regular Senate elections shall identify at least the highest ranking alternate, that is, the candidate receiving the highest number of votes of those not elected. If more than one alternate is identified, the alternates’ names should be submitted in order of rank, based on the number of votes. The names of the winner(s) and all of the alternate(s) shall be reported directly to the Senate office. First choice for replacement is to be the highest ranking alternate, as identified in the most recent regular Senate election; if the highest ranking alternate is not available, then the choice will move to all remaining alternates, in order of their rank by vote. If no alternates are available from the most recent regular Senate election, then the University faculty of the voting unit shall hold a special election to identify a new elected senator, who will complete the unfinished term. This same procedure shall be followed in the replacement of committee members elected at-large by the Senate.


  • Jonathan Abel
  • Michael Bérubé
  • Victor Brunsden
  • Mark Casteel
  • Ann Clements
  • Amy Dietz
  • Beth King
  • Richard Robinett
  • James Strauss
  • Jane Sutton
  • Ann Taylor
  • Kent Vrana, Chair
  • Nicole Webster, Vice Chair
  • Matthew Woessner